The Sauce of Niching Down

“The Niche Is You”

“Niching down is your biggest mistake”

We’ve all heard these phrases in the past

So why did I choose to niche down?

Going from self improvement to scientific storytelling

Was it the right choice?

Only time will tell…

But let me explain why.

Lets say you come across someone’s profile and they have this generic feel

They talk about their job (9-5), they talk about their service (copywriting) and finally they mention their achievement (4+ clients helped)

Their banner is usually some random phrase related to their service and that’s it.

You look at their tweets and they’re all over the place.

One day they talk about their weight loss

The other day they write a quote from a book

You know these guys right?

They’re the perfect example of being the niche.

But is that the best decision?

Wouldn’t it be better to have a funnel to express your content?

Wouldn’t it be better to show exactly what you can share to your audience?

Everyone knows that humans are afraid of the unknown

Its why so many people fear the ocean, they just don’t know what to expect.

So what should you do instead?

Well instead of focusing on interests, why not focus on passions.

Become an expert in one industry and fuel your interests into it.

Let me use myself as an example.

My two passions are science and writing

My thought process was about combining these polar topics…

…and as you saw above that is what I came up with

Now I can fuel all the interests into those passions.

Everyone has some idea of what I will post…

…and the fact that it is unique will draw eyes

On top of that

Its easier for me to create content everyday…

Think about it!

I know the frameworks of what I need to post right?

It needs to be somewhat related to storytelling while also relating to science

Science can consist of fitness (Kinesiology), mind (Psychology) and social connection (Sociology).

Everything that already interests me thrown into a large funnel frameworked as a story…

…and now I can also focus on storytelling itself through tips/guides.

The whole process becomes very simple and I continue to improve my storytelling skills while also improving my knowledge of interests that excite me.

Once I become good at storytelling I can either monetize, stack skills with it or both!

What does this mean for this newsletter?

You’ll be getting a lot more content on this niche.

Not just once a week as it has been.

I hope you're excited.

Till next time,

Jay