What is a personal brand?

So for the past few days I have been working on a rebrand on my account on Twitter

And I have been stumped on the question

What do I want to be known for?

A very valid question indeed.

Then I went deeper and asked a question that has been leaving everyone stumped!

What is a personal brand?

The easiest solution I have found to this problem is…

Think of a brand you really like

It could be:

  • Nike

  • Adidas

  • Vans

Not sure why shoes came first to mind

Now that you have gotten these different brands into your mind…

Add the word personal to the front of them

  • Personal Nike

  • Personal Adidas

  • Personal Vans

They go from being shoes

To your shoes

“What makes them mine?”

You tell me

  • What size shoes do you wear?

  • What designs do you feel attracted to?

  • Why does one brand call out to you more than another?

Its because there is emotion behind it

The emotion of a real person

Its no longer shoes

Its Timmy’s shoes

And he can do whatever he wants with it

Sorry for rambling on

But this is quite literally what it is

Its personal

So instead of sharing generic ideas, the way you would share generic shoes

You share:

  • Struggles

  • Interests

  • Pains

You embody the brand

While continuing to experience and live a normal life

Hope you enjoyed this,

I’ll see you later on in the week

Jay